December 19

posted Dec 19, 2014, 5:45 AM by   [ updated Nov 2, 2018, 8:24 AM by State Library ]
1836 On December 19, 1836, the Congress of the Independent Republic of Texas defined the boundaries of the Republic. Included within these boundaries was a portion (much of Carbon County) that would eventually become part of Wyoming. This area was part of Texas through 1850 when the United States purchased the "northern portion of Texas" from the state of Texas.

1889 News of Wyoming's statehood from 125 years ago today.

1907 An article about the growing town of Luther appeared in the December 19, 1907 Laramie Republican. Luther was renamed. Do you know what its name is today? Check the link to find the answer.