Wyoming Statehood Celebration - List of Attendees

According to the July 27, 1890 edition of The Wyoming Commonwealth, a large number of distinguished Americans were in attendance for the official Wyoming statehood ceremony. Among the guests were Governor Warren, Mrs. Morris, Judge Brown, Mrs. Post, Rev. J. Y. Cowhick, Mrs. Jenkins, John W. Hoyt, Mrs. Ollerenshaw, Rev. Geo. C. Rafter, Mrs. Hale, Mrs. Warren, Harvey Middleton, Mrs. Clark, Judge Van Devanter and wife, Mrs. Bartlett, Secretary Meldrum and wife, Mrs. Kilborne, Mrs. Myers, Mrs. Smith, Mrs. Bergman, Colin Hunter, Mrs. Buechner, Mrs. Furniss, Mrs. Mason, Gen. Mizner, Mr. Buechner, Mr. Hoyt, and many others.

In addition, the Ladies Executive Committee on Celebration selected Mrs. Morris to present the flag, Mrs. Ollerenshaw to be the standard flag bearer, Mrs. Jenkins the ladies orator, and Mrs. Post to be presented the Wyoming Constitution by the gentlemen, (Cheyenne Daily Sun April 4, 1890, p. 5).

This portion of the exhibit is dedicated to the people who were at the celebration on the Great Day. Photos, illustrations, and biographical sketches of the notable attendees we could find are from historic Wyoming newspapers, Bartlett's History of Wyoming (S.J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1918), and Wyoming State Archives. Click the links below to learn a bit about the folks that were present for the ceremony.

Statehood Ceremony Attendees