December 13

1812 On December 13, 1812, Robert Stuart and the Astorians abandoned the cabin they'd built for winter near Bessemer Bend. Fearing the return of a group of Arapaho Indians who had discovered them a few days earlier, they moved their winter camp downstream to a site near present day Torrington.

1879 The Sixth Legislative Assembly on December 13, 1879 changed the name of Pease County to Johnson County.