December 27

1867 Carter County was created, boundaries defined, and South Pass City named the county seat on December 27, 1867 by the Seventh Legislative Assembly of Dakota Territory. The First Wyoming Territorial Legislative Assembly changed the name of Carter County to Sweetwater County in 1869.

1899 On December 27, 1899, Cheyenne received a $50,000.00 Carnegie Library grant. Laramie County's Carnegie Library opened on May 19, 1902.