February 2

1848 The Guadalupe Hidalgo Treaty, the treaty of peace between Mexico and the United States, was signed on February 2, 1848. It establishes the boundary line between Mexico and the United States. Mexico relinquished her claims to all the territory covered by the original State of Texas and ceded to the United States all of what is now known as California, Nevada and Utah, parts of Arizona, Colorado and New Mexico, and that part of Wyoming south of the 42nd parallel and west of the 106th meridian.