January 3

1868 Laramie County was created and boundaries defined as "all that portion of the Territory of Dakota west of the one hundred and fourth meridian west..." and Fort Sanders named the county seat by the Sixth Dakota Legislative Assembly on January 9, 1867. On January 3, 1868, the Seventh Dakota Legislative Assembly redefined the western boundary and changed the county seat to Cheyenne.

1943 Douglas Prisoner of War Camp approved on January 3, 1943.