January 9

1869 Laramie County was created on January 9, 1867.

1888 Lonetree Post Office in Uinta County was established on January 9, 1888. It was originally named Lone Tree. According to early Wyoming Business Directories, farming and stockraising were the principal industries. A weekly column titled "Lonetree Scrapings" appeared in the Evanston newspaper Wyoming Press in the early 1900s. In 2010, the population of Lonetree was 49.

1895 On January 9, 1895 the name of the Torrey Post Office was changed to Thermopolis.

1911 Park County was organized on January 9, 1911 with Cody as its county seat.

1914 News across Wyoming this week in 1914 saw the relocation of a town now known as Arminto.