September 22

1789 The Act of September 22, 1789 (1 Stat. 70) temporarily established a U.S. Post Office Department and created the Office of the Postmaster General. Wyoming's first post office was not established until March 14, 1850, at Fort Laramie, Nebraska Territory.

1901 From the Laramie Boomerang of September 22, 1901; the Pioneer Ditch—also called the Pioneer Canal—was constructed in 1878 on the Laramie Plains.

1904 Wyman Post Office in Albany County was established on September 22, 1904 with Emma S. Wyman as its first postmaster. Wyman represents the background of many early post offices in Wyoming, as it was named for its first postmaster.